Akwesasne Self-Government Agreement

I am responsible for developing and presenting different perspectives on legal relationships, as well as developing press releases and public communications on agreements. Between the Treaty of Paris of 1783 and the Jay Treaty of 1795 until the Treaty of Gant in 1812, the United States and Great Britain signed a series of agreements that defined part of the current border between Canada and the United States. These agreements ultimately had the effect of dividing the municipality of Akwesasne beyond the limits of the jurisdiction. Also included in the Jay Treaty, and then reaffirmed in the Treaty of Gant, is the recognition of the right of indigenous peoples to freely cross the border. But while the United States recognizes the Jay Treaty, that is not the case in Canada. However, the inhabitants of Akwesasne have been granted a waiver as part of the current closure of the border, provided they identify with their Indian status card at the border. The majority of Akwesaronn have Indian status, which means they can continue to cross the international border that crosses their territory during this pandemic. However, those who do not have a status card are stuck in the part of the area where they live. As a policy analyst for Entewatatha:wi, I am responsible for the help of Entewatatha:wi Managers/Coordinator for the development, negotiation and implementation of our self-management agreements. I am chair of the Land Law Task Force and the Rural Law Working Group. I also write proposals, I have done other work tables, I do research, I check the guidelines, draft directives, laws and codes. As director/coordinator of Entewatatha:wi, I am responsible for developing self-management agreements that define a new government for government relations with Canada.

These agreements will be ratified by Akwesaronon and the Canadian Parliament and will create increased jurisdiction and authority for the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne in the provision of programs and services to the Community. The Department of Justice of the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne has only about 17 employees.